Qualifications our schools offer 

Our Member Schools offer a range of education qualifications that are internationally recognised and easily transferable.

International Baccalaureate

International Baccalaureate® (IB) programmes aim to develop inquiring, knowledgeable and caring young people who are motivated to succeed and who will build a better world through intercultural understanding and respect.

The IB programme:
encourages students of all ages to think critically and challenge assumptions
develops independently of government and national systems, incorporating quality practice from research and a global community of schools
encourages students of all ages to consider both local and global contexts
develops multilingual students.

Students are able to take responsibility for their own learning and understand how knowledge itself is constructed; this is further to the IB’s theory of knowledge (TOK) course. Students are encouraged to try different approaches to learning and to take responsibility for their own educational progress.

IB programmes also encourage students to be active in their communities and to take their learning beyond academic study.

For more information, visit the IB site.

Cambridge Assessment International Education

The Cambridge Pathway is for students aged 5 to 19. Its wide range of subjects and flexibility gives schools the chance to shape the curriculum so that it is exciting and relevant for their students. 
Cambridge Pathway students have the chance to acquire the knowledge and skills they need to achieve at school, university and beyond. 

The four stages lead from primary to secondary and pre-university years. Each stage – Cambridge Primary, Cambridge Lower Secondary, Cambridge Upper Secondary and Cambridge Advanced – builds on the learners’ development from the previous one, but can also be offered separately.

Five elements lie at the heart of a Cambridge education: 
1. International curriculum 
Schools develop a curriculum that suits their context, culture and ethos, and that they can tailor to their students’ needs. 
2. Teaching and learning 
Professional development for teachers, to help them improve their performance and practice throughout their careers. 
3. Assessment 
Assessment of students’ deep subject knowledge, conceptual understanding, and higher level thinking skills. 
4. International recognition 
Cambridge qualifications are widely recognised by universities and employers worldwide. 
5. Global community

Cambridge schools belong to a worldwide education community in which they can share views, information and resources, and learn from one another.

For more information, visit the Cambridge Assessment International Education site.

National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA)

The National Certificate of Educational Achievement is New Zealand's national qualification for senior secondary school students.

NCEA challenges students of all abilities in all learning areas, and shows credits and grades for separate skills and knowledge. It enables students to gain credits from both traditional school curriculum areas and alternative programmes. For more information, see How NCEA works.

NCEA and other national certificates are recognised by employers and used as the benchmark for selection by New Zealand universities and polytechnics. NCEA is also readily accepted overseas, including by universities. 
For more information, visit the NZQA site.

To see which of our schools offer each qualification, visit our online directory (Insert link).